Select 5, 50 or 500 files. Print them all.
Free batch printing for Windows and macOS. No 15-file limit, no Adobe and no $149 licence.
Free · No account · No telemetry · AGPL-3.0
Illustration: nine files selected in Finder, the Services menu with “Print with Pluryprint (default profile)”, which prints with no further steps, a printer fanning sheets out in three directions and a queue counter that reaches 500 of 500. Behind it, the app’s Queue screen.
Past the fifteen-file wall.
Select more than about 15 files in Windows and Print disappears from the menu. The paid fixes cost $79.95 to $149; the free ones are abandoned or print PDFs only.
Pluryprint takes the whole selection, 5 files or 500, and turns it into one job with one set of print settings.
- macOS, today: Finder › Services › “Print with Pluryprint”, or with the default profile. Built into the app; no extension to enable.
- Windows, with the installer: an Explorer submenu, with no file limit. On Windows 11 it is under “Show more options”.
- On both: drag files or folders onto the window, with or without subfolders.
It all happens on your machine.
No account, no cloud, no telemetry. Every file becomes a PDF on your computer and goes straight to your printer.
27 extensions
PDFs (password-protected ones too), images, SVG, text, HTML and Markdown, inside the app and with no network access. Office and OpenDocument need LibreOffice, and HEIC on Windows the Microsoft Store codecs: if they are missing, the app offers to install them, always asking first.
Named profiles
Copies, collation, duplex, colour or grayscale, paper, orientation, scaling, page ranges, tray and quality. Three built in and as many of your own as you like, to import and export.
A queue that drops nothing
Saved on disk and recovered after a crash. Transient errors are retried three times (1, 5 and 25 s); if a tool is missing, the printer cannot do a setting or a PDF needs its password, the job pauses and tells you what to do.
A screen for every step.
Seven screens: Home, Print Job, Queue, Printers, Profiles, Settings and About.
Queue.
Two conversions at once by default (up to eight, in Settings) and one print at a time. Pause, resume or cancel one job or the whole queue, and see it as a list, a board or a timeline.
Printers.
The system’s printers, with their status, capabilities and supply levels. Find network printers through mDNS or add one by IP, and send each file type to a different printer.
Profiles.
Quick, Duplex BW and Photo Color come built in. Create, clone, edit and set a default; delete one and you have five seconds to undo it.
And from a script.
It ships a command line (on Windows, a separate console executable next to the app, so scripts see its exit code): print, printers, profiles, queue and update, with --help on each, --json output and fixed exit codes. It opens no window.
It is not added to PATH yet: call it by the executable’s path. The command name may change before the first release.
Drag and drop · Folders with subfolders · Resolved command shown · Warns when a printer cannot do duplex or colour · Password-protected PDFs · Test page · Organisation policy · System notifications · Keyboard shortcuts · Light, dark or system · In English and Spanish
The numbers, plainly.
List prices in USD for one user, from each vendor’s website when we did our research (2026). They may have changed: check them before you decide. A dash: not stated.
Swipe the table to see all four alternatives
| What is compared | Pluryprint0.0.1 preview · pre-alpha | Print Conductor | 2Printer | Batch & Print Pro | FolderMill |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $0 | $149volume pricing down to $59 per user | $149 | $79.95Premium, $109.95 | Quotefor businesses |
| Open source | AGPL-3.0code on GitHub | No | No | No | No |
| Formats | 27 extensionsOffice and OpenDocument need LibreOffice | 90+ | 90+ | 30+ | 90+ |
| From the right-click menu | Finder › Services and Explorer, yeson Windows 11, under “Show more options” | Explorer menuadds files to its window | Nocommand line | No | Nohot folders |
| Command line | Yes, with --json | Partial | Yes | Yes | No |
| macOS | Yes | No | No | No | No |
| Account or telemetry | None | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Where others are ahead: many more formats, years of use and published releases. Print Conductor already plugs into the Windows Explorer menu.
The difference: free and AGPL, it prints straight from the menu with a profile instead of only loading files into another window, and it has a native entry in Finder’s Services.
Sources: Print Conductor · its Explorer menu guide · 2Printer · Batch & Print Pro · FolderMill · gHacks review
Ready to download.
Pluryprint 0.0.1 preview came out on 10 October 2026. It is pre-alpha: free, no account, and with the limits listed alongside. The source code is on GitHub.
Release notes for 0.0.1 · SHA256SUMS · All releases
- Windows 10 and 11 · x64Built and tested in CI. Per-user installer, no administrator rights.
- Windows 11 · ARM64Its own installer, tested on Windows 11 on ARM: it installs with no administrator rights and registers the Explorer menu. The x64 one also works there, emulated.
- macOS · Apple siliconBuilt and tested in CI. Its own .dmg, for macOS 13 or later.
- macOS · IntelIts own .dmg, for macOS 13 or later. Tested only under Rosetta 2 on an Apple silicon Mac, not yet on an Intel Mac.
- LinuxOut of scope.
How to open it the first time
- Check the download first against SHA256SUMS:
shasum -a 256 -c SHA256SUMS --ignore-missingon macOS,Get-FileHashon Windows. - Windows: SmartScreen will say “Windows protected your PC”; choose More info › Run anyway. If Smart App Control blocks it, there is no button to continue: only turning it off, which cannot be undone without reinstalling Windows.
- macOS: drag Pluryprint to Applications. If it says Apple could not verify it, go to System Settings › Privacy & Security › Open Anyway. On macOS 15 or later, Control-click › Open no longer gets past it.
No Apple or Microsoft certificates, which is why SmartScreen and Gatekeeper warn. The release notes explain it step by step. Updates are signed, and the app checks that signature before installing them.
Before you ask.
Is it really free?
Yes. It costs $0, needs no account and has no paid tier. It is licensed AGPL-3.0.
Do my files leave my computer?
No. Pluryprint converts and prints on your machine, and a document it prints cannot reach the network. The app only goes online to check for updates (at startup, at most once a day, or from About) and, if you ask it to, to download one or to install a missing tool. There is no telemetry.
Do I need Adobe?
No. PDFs are printed as they are after a structural check, and images are converted to PDF inside the app. On Windows, printing uses SumatraPDF, which the installer includes; if it is not found, the job pauses and tells you.
Why does Word need LibreOffice?
Because every file is turned into a PDF before it is printed, and for Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OpenDocument (and RTF on Windows) Pluryprint uses LibreOffice, which you install separately. If it is missing, the job pauses and the app offers to install it (with winget, Homebrew or the official website), always after asking you. Images, SVG, text, HTML and Markdown need nothing: they are converted inside the app, with no network access.
Is there a file limit?
Not on the number of files. There is a maximum file size, which you can change in Settings.
What if a file fails?
If the error is transient, it is retried three times, after 1, 5 and 25 seconds; if it still fails, or if conversion or printing runs out of time, it stays in the queue with the reason. If a tool is missing or the printer cannot do a setting, the job pauses and tells you what to do. Formats it cannot handle, such as GIF, come back with an explanation.
Does it print password-protected PDFs?
Yes. Pluryprint detects the encrypted PDF, pauses the job and asks for the password in the queue; from the command line, with --password-file or --password-stdin. It uses the password for that job only and does not save it. A PDF whose permissions forbid printing is refused.
Does it work from the right-click menu?
On macOS, yes: select the files in Finder and choose Services › Print with Pluryprint. On Windows, the installer registers the Explorer submenu (print N files, print with a profile, configure the job or add it to the queue): it appears on Windows 10 and, on Windows 11, under “Show more options”. A top-level entry in the Windows 11 menu needs a signed package, and there is no certificate yet.
Does it run on Apple silicon, Windows ARM or Linux?
Apple silicon, yes: that is where it is tested in CI. Windows ARM64 too: it has its own installer, tested on Windows 11 on ARM, which registers the Explorer menu. Intel Macs have their own .dmg, tested only under Rosetta 2, not yet on an Intel Mac. Linux is out of scope.
Why will Windows and macOS warn when I open it?
Because Pluryprint is not signed with Apple or Microsoft certificates. SmartScreen and Gatekeeper will warn the first time: on Windows, choose More info › Run anyway; on macOS, System Settings › Privacy & Security › Open Anyway. Each release’s notes explain it step by step. Updates are signed with the project’s own key, and the app checks that signature before installing anything.
How does it update?
The app tells you when there is a new version and you choose: install now (signature verified, no administrator rights), remind me later or skip that version. It never updates by itself. There are two channels, stable and beta. The first version, 0.0.1 preview, came out on 10 October 2026.
Right-click. Print everything.
In Finder, from Services; in Explorer, from the submenu the installer registers.
Free · No account · No telemetry